

Tree Committee Minutes Wednesday, September 18, 2024 7pm Green Isle City Hall

Vision Statement

## Green Isle is a safe, engaged, and pristine environment with a developing industrial and residential community guided by input from all, with the focus on the future success of the City.

- Call Meeting to Order at 7:00 pm -Meeting was called to order at 7:12 pm by Consultant Amy Soeffker
  Present: Cal LaRose, Harrison DeBoer, Shane Sheets
  Absent: Terry Hughes
  Staff Present: Consultant Amy Soeffker
- 2. Pledge of Allegiance All stood for the Pledge of Allegiance
- 3. Election of Officers
  - i. Chair Motion by Sheets to elect DeBoer as Chair, seconded by LaRose. Motion carried.
    DeBoer took over running the meeting from Soeffker.
  - ii. Vice Chair Motion by DeBoer to elect LaRose Vice Chair, seconded by Sheets. Motion carried.
  - iii. Secretary Motion by DeBoer to elect Soeffker as Secretary, seconded by Sheets. Motion carried.
- 4. Tree City USA The committee reviewed and began preparing the Tree City USA application.
- 5. Arborist Three different arborists were contacted.
  - a. Anne Laplante from Glencoe 320-510-1744
  - b. Lawrence Johnson from Carver/NYA 952-456-2664
  - c. Philip Schrock of Carver 612-747-0031

Lawrence "Larry" Johnson returned our call during the meeting and agreed to be the City Forester for the Tree City USA application.

- 6. Survey volunteers Next meeting Sheets will provide some training on different types of trees and tree diseases. LaRose will provide map that the mower use for the city and members will create a plan for surveying the city.
  - Identify current trees
  - What is dying and diseased
  - Power lines
  - Future plantings

## 7. Agenda items for future meetings

- Educational items
- Fun Facts on Trees
- Emerald Ash Borer information to treat them/bring someone into town
- i. Dates/times for future meetings
  - First Tuesdays of the month, next meeting Tuesday, October 1.
- 8. Adjournment- Motion by LaRose to adjourn the meeting at 8:14 pm, seconded by Sheets. Motion carried.

Secretary Amy Soeffker

Chair Harrison DeBoer